Info Fast Falls the Eventide by Dead Voices on Air 
"Fast Falls the Eventide"
by Dead Voices on Air
Lens Records (LENS0109)
"Iol Doth Yehu"
"Fast Falls the Eventide"

fn issue October 2011
'N-Plants' - Biosphere
'Sky Snails' - The Electric Golem
'Echo Park' - Willamette
'Gramophone Transmissions' - Broken Harbour
'Negative Space' - Blue Sausage Infant
'Home Patterning' - compilation
'Polychromatic Integers' - Richard Lainhart
'Generate Records' - compilation
'Sung In Broken Symmetry' - Aquarelle

Dead Voices on Air, was originally a trio consisting of Scott Harker, Clancy Dennehey, and ex-Zoviet France’s Mark Spybey. Fast Falls the Eventide marks DVOA’s eleventh album, where we now find Spybey solely at the helm. This ship sails the waters off a strange musical continent, a land where world music fuses disembodied, electronic-rumbling drones inside vast reverberant architectures.

Spybey has been experimenting in the studio for twenty five years, collaborating with the likes of James Plotkin, cEvin Key of Skinny Puppy to Rapoon’s Robin Storey as well as performing in the Damo Suzuki Band. If pushed, I would describe DVOA's output at the nexus of the esoteric Psych-Goth and Industrial groups like the Legendary Pink Dots, Tear Garden.

Exhibiting a certain split personality Fast Falls the Eventide feels likes a recorded journal of ideas collected and allowed to simmer over a long period of time. Some moods are extended across sequential tracks such as Let Meins Awake, and Seachange. In these pieces distorted warped vocals chant over a dry surgical rhythm, while Spybey fires up aggressive electronics like a turbine jet, ultimately shattered then shape shifted into oblivion. Mellowing a bit the next track Aescher explores a ritual chant submerged in thick ambiance, only to flow into a spacey orbiting Mete Him Out of the Winds.

My favourite moments of Fast Falls happen half way through the album, beginning with a series of tracks from Tear My Salt Eyes through toTalomon Wire. These songs, perhaps live improvisations, use a combination of rock and various ethnic instrumentation, combined with heavily processed electronic samples. Sections of them are a bit Post-Rock, Art Punk, and definitely jammy weird... imagine excessive experimentation with Ayahuasca, while listening to the Sun City Girls.

By the time you reach the twenty two minute title track, it's about time to unwind, and that is exactly what happens. DVOA ignites the slow burn; beautiful wafting choirs swirl amidst infinite echo and drone. It is glacial and endless at the right time. Lenin-Blume rounds off these edges and serves as the gentle ending coda, arousing the listener from a cosmic trance induced by the prior track.

The second disc of the two CD set was a cassette only release from 1994 (digitally remastered) and called Abrader. Skinny Puppy fans take note that cEvin Key was a part of this project and two additional tracks are included. In my opinion it’s a bit static and underwhelming in comparison to disc one, except for tracks like Papa Papa Rue and Honour Boe, which sound like Fast Fall outtakes.

Review by Derek Morton


permalink = ""
Furthernoise is a project